Santa Clarita Valley History In Pictures

Walk of Western Stars Inductees
Downtown Newhall, California


2019 Inductees:
James Drury
Robert Fuller
Dan White

Past honorees dinner;
no new inductions

2017 Inductees:
Bo Hopkins
Andre & Renaud Veluzat

2016 Inductees:
Johnny Crawford
Hal Needham*

2015 Inductees:
Diamond Farnsworth
Waddie Mitchell

2014 Inductees:
Charles Bronson*
Steve McQueen*

2013 Inductees:
Rodolfo Acosta*
Stuart Hamblen*
Lee Marvin*

2012 Inductees:
Joel Cox
Glenn Ford*

2011 Inductee:
John Ford*

2010 Inductees:
Lloyd Bridges
Gary Cooper
Audie Murphy
James Stewart

2009 Inductee:
Joel McCrea

2008 Inductees:
David Carradine
Jack Lilley
John Saxon

2007 Inductees:
Harry Dean Stanton
Phil Rawlins
Sons of the San Joaquin

2006 Inductees:
James Arness
Rhonda Fleming
Robert Horton
Andrew Prine

2005 Inductees:
Powers Boothe
Harry Carey Jr.
Graham Greene
Jack Williams

2004 Inductees:
Keith Carradine
Melissa Gilbert
Loren Janes
Buck Page

2003 Inductees:
William Boyd*
Bruce Dern
Riders in the Sky
Buck Taylor

2002 Inductees:
Alex Cord
Peggy Stewart
John Schneider

2001 Inductees:
Linda Gray
Herb Jeffries
Wilford Brimley
Jo Anne Darcy
(Lifetime Achievement)

2000 Inductees:
Peter Brown
Don Edwards
Richard Farnsworth
Dale Evans
(Lifetime Achievement)

1993 Inductees:
Sam Elliott
Jack Palance
Katharine Ross
Woody Strode
Stuart Whitman

1992 Inductees:
Virginia Mayo
Montie Montana
Jane Russell

George Montgomery

1991 Inductees:
Hoyt Axton
George Montgomery
Hugh O'Brian
Denver Pyle

1990 Inductees:
Bruce Boxleitner
Lee Horsley
Cliffie Stone
Morgan Woodward

1988-89 Inductees:
Hoot Gibson
Doug McClure
Dale Robertson

1987 Inductees:
Amada Blake
Harry Carey, Sr.
Ben Johnson

1985-86 Inductees:
Iron Eyes Cody
Chuck Connors
Monte Hale

1984 Inductees:
Robert Conrad
Clayton Moore
Clint Walker
John Wayne
Dennis Weaver

1983 Inductees:
Claude Akins
Pat Buttram
Dale Evans
Andy Jauregui
Roy Rogers
Tex Williams

Rex Allen
1982 Inductees:
Rex Allen
Eddie Dean
Tex Ritter*

1981 Inductees:
Gene Autry
William S. Hart*
Tom Mix*

SCVCC Western Celebrities Luncheon/Dinner (Walk predecessor):
Gene Bear (1980)
Rod Cameron
Harry Carey Jr.
Iron Eyes Cody
Nudie Cohn
Carl Cribbs
Eddie Dean (1979)
Stuart Hamblen (1979)
Andy Jauregui
Montie Montana
Montie Montana Jr. (1980)
Doye O'Dell (1979)
Cliffie Stone
Jimmy Wakely (1980)
Tex & Dallas Williams

* Posthumous

The Downtown Newhall Walk of Western Stars began in 1981 as the "Western Walk of Fame" as a means of honoring Western film, stage, television and radio personalities who performed in the Santa Clarita Valley. The Walk grew out of a Western Celebrities Luncheon (1975-1979) / Dinner (1980) put together by Jo Anne Darcy after she became manager of the Newhall-Saugus-Valencia (SCV) Chamber of Commerce in 1974. Darcy and the chamber eventually transformed it into the Western Walk of Fame — which name was changed to "Walk of Western Stars" after the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce sued over the use of the trademarked "Walk of Fame" name.

Stars were immortalized along San Fernando Road and Newhall Avenue, and later Market Street, with bronze plaques and terrazzo tile set into the sidewalks. The induction on the street was accompanied by a gala dinner at California Institute of the Arts in Valencia. The event continued annually through 1993 and was suspended in 1994 because of leadership and copyright issues, and because of the earthquake on Jan. 17 of that year.

Installations resumed in 2000 when Darcy was mayor of the city of Santa Clarita. The Walk was incorporated into the city's annual Cowboy Poetry and Music Festival (later called Cowboy Festival) — with the blessing of the Santa Clarita Valley Chamber of Commerce, which claimed ownership of the event (even though a separate nonprofit corporation, the Santa Clarita Valley Walk of Western Stars Foundation, ran the event prior to 1994). The gala dinner was moved to the posh new Hyatt Valencia Hotel and Conference Center and, starting in 2002, to the Melody Ranch Motion Picture Studio in Placerita Canyon. Various types of celebratory events (not usually including dinner) have been organized since the Cowboy Festival moved to William S. Hart Park in 2015.






1975 Program


1980 Program


* Pre-Walk Programs


1983 (3rd)


1984 (4th)


1985 (5th)


1987 (6th)

RETURN TO TOP ]   RETURN TO MAIN INDEX ]   PHOTO CREDITS ]   BIBLIOGRAPHY ]   BOOKS FOR SALE ] is another service of SCVTV, a 501c3 Nonprofit • Site contents ©SCVTV
The site owner makes no assertions as to ownership of any original copyrights to digitized images. However, these images are intended for Personal or Research use only. Any other kind of use, including but not limited to commercial or scholarly publication in any medium or format, public exhibition, or use online or in a web site, may be subject to additional restrictions including but not limited to the copyrights held by parties other than the site owner. USERS ARE SOLELY RESPONSIBLE for determining the existence of such rights and for obtaining any permissions and/or paying associated fees necessary for the proposed use.