Annual Pops! Jazz Concert

by Jhanine Nicole Sanchez 602 views0

The College of the Canyons Music Department presented the “Annual Pops! Jazz Concert” held at the Santa Clarita Performing Arts Center in Santa Clarita, Calif., on May 11, 2012.

Musical Director, KC Manji, collaborated with fellow College of the Canyons instructors and students to feature in the concert. Andrea Vibe, a vocal instructor in the Music Department, sang “Sir Duke” by Stevie Wonder. Julie Lawson, director of Just Jazz, performed “I Could Write a Book,” and the a cappella piece “Silence of Time”. And from the Piano Department, Dr. Lydia Lee performed “Rhapsody in Blue” by George Gershwin.

Jazz Lab Band and Studio Jazz Ensemble are both directed by KC Manji, and accompanied by David Edelstein.

Jazz Lab Band

Andrew Beeh – Guitar

Kelsey Walker – Piano

Kathleen Maressa – Piano

Gynifer Dearo – Piano

Luigi Juarez – Flute

Nicholas Schultz – Vibraphone

Andrew Orozco – Vibraphone

Mark Gutierrez – Bass

Andrew Orozco – Drums

Nicholas Schultz – Drums

Haidee Vasquez – Violin

Kelsey Walker – Marimba


Studio Jazz Ensemble

Alex Weston – Saxophone

Rhett Nelson – Saxophone

Dennis Akesson – Saxophone

Lorrie Freedman – Saxophone

Cindy Bradley – Saxophone

Jim Brown – Saxophone

Rob Rudolph – Trombone

Lee White – Trombone

Tony Brattoli – Trombone

Mark Winston – Trombone

David Edelstein – Keyboard

Mark Kelton – Trumpet

Bill Melendres – Trumpet

John Klinedinst – Trumpet

Lenny Schaustal – Trumpet

Gary Lenk – Bass

Roberto Lobato – Drums

Avery Merritt – Violin


(Photos by: Jhanine Nicole Sanchez)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: