Successful National Signing Day for Cougars

by Jon Gonzalez, Staff Writer 677 views0

10 players from the 2010 College of the Canyons football team officially signed with four-year universities — including three Football Bowl Subdivision schools — as part of National Signing Day, the school announced Wednesday.

“The Cougar football program had another great year in placing players in four-year universities,” said Cougars head football coach Garett Tujague through a statement released by the college. “There was a tremendous amount of effort by the players and support staff to help today become a reality.”

Sophomore linebacker Justin Cudworth, who was named first-team all-Western State Conference, joined Eastern Michigan University. Freshman and sophomore offensive linemen Randy Horton and Steven Haunga signed with the University of Nevada and Arkansas State University, respectively.

Tujague said that he expects more players to sign in the following months. He was also appreciative of COC’s effort in getting the athletes signed.

“Today is just another example of the dedication the college has towards helping student-athletes succeed.”

Here is the complete list of players:

Player High School Pos. Destination Div.

Justin Arias Agoura QB Idaho State Div. I FCS

Khalil Bass Crespi OLB Portland State Div. I FCS

Jeremy Boone Shaker Heights DE Portland State Div. I FCS

Justin Cudworth Agoura OLB Eastern Michigan Div. I FBS

Steven Haunga Spring Valley, Nev. OT Arkansas State Div. I FBS

Randy Horton Simi Valley TE Nevada Div. I FBS

Rickeem Jackson Ocoee, Fla. WR Robert Morris Div. I FCS

Emanuel Koleosho Academy of Holy Angels, Minn. DL Charleston Southern Div. I FCS

Antwan Smith Henry E. Lackey, Md. FS Robert Morris Div. I FCS

Will Namoa Waianae, Hawaii DT Benedictine College NAIA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: